Northscape 

Thomas Klotz

Préface Sonia Voss

First edition of 300 copies 

17,5 X 24 cm

Soft cover with flaps

108 pages 

74 photographs

ISBN: 978-2-490740-02-4

32 euros

1/8

This is no landscape, but rather a frontal view, sealed off, without any horizon or vanishing point. Only a tiny corner of bleached sky seems to allow a breath of air into the hermetic space. This works as a two-dimensional formal construct dividing the frame defined by the photographer into segments. Far from receiving an invitation to broaden or deepen its focus, our eye seems almost to run up against the barrier of this wall. The territory we explore in this book is that urban and sub-urban zone of cities in the north of France. It is also a pictorial space: that of landscape photography, inherited from painting but transformed by the scrambling of codes carried out by the young Americans Stephen Shore, Henry Wessel and six of their contemporaries in the historic exhibition New Topographics: Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape. Mounted in 1975 at the George Eastman House in Rochester, NY, this watershed exhibition altered the imaginary space of the landscape. From that point forward, the landscape could not be dissociated from the imprint that man left upon it.

The photographs of Thomas Klotz have a dramatic quality. They are invested with a narrative potential, tenuous but undeniably there. The structures we see are like theatrical scenery: inanimate but charged with a latent presence. The story he is telling is by no means a grand and comprehensive one; Klotz’s views belong rather to the order of the micro-appropriation, the taking of a common place – a common place in the elevated sense lent to it by the American photographers cited above, who helped us see the strange in the everyday, the extraordinary in the trivial. 

Thomas Klotz was born and raised in the North of France. He has known its landscapes, experienced them, perhaps become inured to them before leaving them behind and moving to Paris – which made it possible for him to return to his native countryside and rediscover it as a visitor, as a familiar but freshly surprised observer. This balance between deep knowledge and curiosity keeps his photographs from either indulging in the picturesque or submitting to the systematic. As rigorous as this series of photographs is – in laying out before us a series of façades, one after another, which intersect with a few fleeting glances at some remains of nature or more rarely yet with the glimpse of an interior, to produce a cold mood that could almost be called despair – the conceptual framework never appears to have defined a priori the visual perspective of the image.

"Everything is a sign of a human floating caged in an overurbanity. We track down the residues, the rubbish, the walls left as Dadaist constructions. Between faded forms and haunted shadows we hang a forgotten crucifix that has become part of a fortuitous composition of household products. The sudden strangeness of a factory, of a barrier or of a wire store, ordinary human fabrications captured by the singular eye of Thomas Klotz forces us to look differently at the vivid vestiges of modernity. " - Claire Berest, Photo

Hurry

"Northscape, these are walls, gardens, windows, wasteland, pieces of factory in a territory where the photographer seeks consistency of colors and materials. Thomas Klotz works with solitude, his work is already exciting. " Fabien Ribery - Blog the interval

 

"The bright color that stands out from the gray, the framing that tells more than the obvious, the unexpected poetry of an ordinary scene ... We walk by his side, on a stroll, transcending a certain classicism that can be invoked by codes of topographic photography. " Les Inrockuptibles

"It is true that Thomas Klotz's photographs provoke the imagination and have an obvious narrative dimension." Fisheye

Northscape 

Thomas Klotz

Préface Sonia Voss

First edition of 500 copies 

26,5 X 28,5 cm

Couverture souple avec rabats

112 pages 

74 photographies

ISBN:  978-2-490740-03-1

38 euros

1/8

Cette façade en brique, ce n’est pas un paysage mais une vue frontale, bouchée, sans horizon donc, ni ligne de fuite, auquel seul un petit coin de ciel blanchi confère une respiration. Un agencement bidimensionnel de formes qui segmentent le cadre choisi par le photographe et auquel se heurte le regard plus qu’il ne l’invite à s’élargir. Le territoire que nous découvrons est, à rebours, celui urbain et périurbain des villes du Nord de la France. C’est aussi un territoire pictural : celui de la photographie de paysage, héritée de la peinture et dont les codes ont été bouleversés par les jeunes Américains – Stephen Shore, Henry Wessel et six de leurs contemporains – révélés par l’historique « New Topographics: Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape ». Cette exposition qui s’est tenue en 1975 à la George Eastman House à Rochester, NY a fait date et déplacé l’imaginaire lié au paysage, désormais indissociable de la marque imprimée sur lui par l’homme.

Les photographies de Thomas Klotz ont en effet une qualité dramatique, elles sont porteuses d’un potentiel narratif, ténu mais indéniable. Les bâtisses que l’on voit sont des décors : inanimés mais chargés d’une présence latente. Ce n’est de toute évidence pas d’un grand récit dont il s’agit ici ; les prises de vue de Klotz sont plutôt de l’ordre de la micro- saisie, de la capture du lieu commun – le common place mis en valeur et détourné par les photographes américains cités plus haut, qui ont su voir l’étrange dans le quotidien, l’extraordinaire dans le trivial.

Thomas Klotz est originaire du Nord de la France. Il connaît les paysages de sa région natale, les a éprouvés, vus peut-être jusqu’à ne plus les voir, avant de les quitter en s’installant à Paris, puis de les redécouvrir en visiteur, familier mais étonné. Cet équilibre maintient ses photographies loin de toute recherche du pittoresque, comme de tout système. Pour rigoureuse que soit sa série qui égrène les façades dans une sorte de désespoir froid et les entrecoupe de quelques échappées dans la nature et de rares vues intérieures, le parti pris conceptuel ne semble jamais préexister à la prise de vue. 

" Tout fait signe d'un flottement humain encagé dans une sururbanité. On traque les résidus, les détritus, les murs laissés aux hasards des surgissements dadaïstes. Entre formes fanées et ombres hantées on accroche un crucifix oublié devenu partie prenante d'une fortuite compositions aux produits ménagers. L'étrangeté soudaine d'usine, d'une barrière ou d'un magasin grillagé, banales fabrications humaines saisies par l'œil singulier de Thomas Klotz nous force à regarder autrement les vestiges vivaces de la modernité. " - Claire Berest, Photo

Presse

" La couleur vive qui se détache du gris, le cadrage qui raconte autre chose que l'évidence, la poésie inattendue d'une scène banale... On part alors à ses côtés, en balade, transcendant un certain classicisme que peuvent invoquer les codes de la photographie topographique. " Les Inrockuptibles

" Il est vrai que les photographies de Thomas Klotz provoquent l’imaginaire et possèdent une dimension narrative évidente. " Fisheye