COVER copie.jpg

Northscape

Thomas klotz

Text by Sonia Voss

First edition

26,5 X 28,5 cm

Soft cover with flaps

112 pages 

74 photographies

French - English

January 2020

ISBN:  978-2-490740-03-1

Standard Edition: 38 €

 

Thomas Klotz is a French photographer whose first book Northscape was published by Eyd in 2019. It is when the photographer multiplies the returns in the north of France to  see his dying father  he began the project, as an emergency to stay active. Northscape is the photographer's pictorialist pilgrimage to his native region.

Observer of detail, Klotz endeavors to capture the plastic aspect of the most ordinary places or objects and to reveal their fantastic beauty. A bleeding wall, a corner of a blind that flies away or bushes marked by identical imprints are all simple elements which, through the frontality of the frame and the liveliness of the colors, become unreal and phantasmagoric.

"Everything is a sign of a human floating caged in an overurbanity. We track down the residues, the rubbish, the walls left to the chances of Dadaist appearances. Between faded forms and haunted shadows we hang a forgotten crucifix that has become part of a fortuitous composition. household products. The sudden strangeness of a factory, of a barrier or a wire-mesh store, banal human fabrications captured by the singular eye of Thomas Klotz forces us to look differently at the vivid vestiges of modernity. "

Claire Berest

Thomas Klotz's second book EVE, la montagne et la jeune fille published by Eyd editions in 2019 is a tale about the anxieties of a father and his daughter and the difficulty of growing up.here

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
1/4

Presse
 

Libération
Bjp 1854

Télérama
Les Inrockuptibles
France fine art
Vision(s)
The introspect
collective
Fisheye magazine

News

- Thomas Klotz travaille sur un projet au long cours sur la justice française.

Bibliographie

- Northscape - 2019

Eyd éditions

IN EXTENSO

Thomas Klotz

IMG_1163.JPG.jpg

COVER copie.jpg

Northscape

Thomas Klotz

Texte de Sonia Voss

Première édition

26,5 X 28,5 cm

Couverture souple avec rabats

112 pages 

74 photographies

French - English

Août 2019

ISBN:  978-2-490740-03-1

Edition Standard : 38€

 

Thomas Klotz est un photographe français dont premier livre Northscape est publié par les éditions Eyd en 2019 collection LOCI. C'est au moment où le photographe dont le père mourant multiplie les retours dans le nord de la France qu'il commence le projet, comme une urgence à rester actif. Northscape est le pèlerinage pictorialiste du photographe dans sa région natale.

Observateur du détail, Klotz s'attache à capter l'aspect plastique des lieux ou objets les plus ordinaires et d'y révéler leur beauté fantastique. Un mur qui saigne, un coin de store qui s'envole ou des buissons marqués par des empreintes identiques sont autant d'éléments simples qui par la frontalité du cadre et la vivacité des couleurs deviennent irréels et fantasmagoriques.

" Tout fait signe d'un flottement humain encagé dans une sururbanité. On traque les résidus, les détritus, les murs laissés aux hasards des surgissements dadaïstes. Entre formes fanées et ombres hantées on accroche un crucifix oublié devenu partie prenante d'une fortuite compositions aux produits ménagers. L'étrangeté soudaine d'usine, d'une barrière ou d'un magasin grillagé, banales fabrications humaines saisies par l'œil singulier de Thomas Klotz nous force à regarder autrement les vestiges vivaces de la modernité. "

Claire Berest

Le second livre de Thomas Klotz EVE, la montagne et la jeune fille publié par les éditions Eyd en 2019 est un conte sur les angoisses d'un père et sa fille et la difficulté de grandir. here

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
1/4

Presse
 

Libération
Bjp 1854

Télérama
Les Inrockuptibles
France fine art
Vision(s)
The introspect
collective
Fisheye magazine

News

- Thomas Klotz travaille sur un projet au long cours sur la justice française.

Bibliographie

- Northscape - 2019

Eyd éditions

IN EXTENSO

Thomas Klotz

IMG_1163.JPG.jpg